289 Sumach
Originally constructed in 1898 as the Ontario Medical College for Women, this historically significant and now designated Romanesque Revival building had fallen on hard times by the early 80's, enduring a series of industrial uses, most recently as a machine shop. Purchased in 1983, the facades were restored according to 1898 photographs from a medical calendar discovered behind the original baseboards, and the interiors were transformed into ten multi-storey loft residences, internally maintaining elements of both its historical and industrial precedents.